Annual General Meeting 2017

Annual General Meeting 2017

On Friday 10 November we held our AGM at the Daylesford Town Hall with over 80 members present. Those present were able to catch up on Hepburn Wind’s financial and community performance over the last financial year.

Prior to the AGM, we had Jo Kaptein from MASH to discuss the new Hepburn Solar Bulk-Buy that will begin in March 2018 (click here for more info). We also had three team members from Powershop helping local residents find out if switching would get them a better deal on electricity.

Those who attended the AGM were inspired by our keynote address from Taryn Lane, Hepburn Wind’s Community Manager and recent Churchill Fellow. Taryn described her three-month project in Europe studying 100% renewable energy villages.

We were also glad to have Hepburn Shire’s CEO, Aaron Van Edgmond, present the council’s waste to biogas project (read more here). Aaron also announced that Hepburn Wind and the Hepburn Shire Council will be working together on a MoU and zero-net energy strategy for the region.

With David Perry chairing the meeting, the board presented the 2016/2017 annual report and answered questions for members. Key updates included;

  • our strong financial performance despite reduced wind yields
  • our successful debt paydown, around a decade ahead of schedule
  • feedback on our Capital Return for members

The AGM also included a description of future projects being considered to add value to our co-operative and generate more revenue that would facilitate a dividend for members.

We had some significant changes to our board, four directorships were made vacant with Bronwyn Baird, Candy Broad, Kathy Richardson and Mitch Watson retiring. We are pleased that Kathy will continue to assist on a range of committees. We were able to bypass a formal election as only four candidates applied. Coming into these directorships was Linda Hancock, Geoff Gedge, Paul Houghton and Stuart Read (read about our new directors here). They will join Graham White, David Perry and Ross Ullman who renominated as directors.

We would like to thank Bronwyn, Candy, Kath and Mitch for their great contribution to Hepburn Wind and wish them well in their future endeavours.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.